What is a safe practice to save my files?
Do the first save when you create the document. Then subsequently (every 5 minutes or so), save as you work. DO NOT save to the computer you are using! All NWTC computers are either virtual, or have a utility installed that reverts a machine to its original state after the user is logged off. Either save to a USB drive or your network "H" drive.
On Library computers, you can save work on your H drive by clicking File>Save As> and under Computer locate and click on your ID#. This is your H drive. All files saved here can only be accessed and deleted by you. You can access it from any NWTC computer on any NWTC campus, but not from home!!
If you are unsure how to "save to" a location, ask a computer technician or any of the librarians at the Library Desk.